20 December 2012

Happy Holidays!


Just a note to wish all of you a wonderful Christmas Holiday! 

There will be no rehearsal on December 22nd or 29th, 2012. We will resume rehearsals on January 5th, 2013.

If you have any calendar questions, don't forget to check the website; the calendar there is kept up-to-date. Just click on the LYS Calendar tab on the home page.

Thank you for your dedication. I feel privileged to know you! Be safe and have a wonderful break. And please find the time to practice hard, not hardly!


Julie Gardner

12 December 2012

Opportunity! -- Oquirrh Mountain Symphony - 2013 Concerto Competition

Greetings, all!

Here's hoping you might know someone who will be interested in this great performance opportunity. I do find it "ironic" that it's the day of our next concert. :/

:) Julie

---------- Forwarded message ----------

Dear Ms. Julie Gardner and the Lincoln Youth Symphony and Lincoln Youth Chamber Orchestra–

Hello. My name is Roger Morandi. I am currently Symphony President and principal oboe with the Oquirrh Mountain Symphony, a multi-community orchestra based in the southern Salt Lake valley in Herriman, UT.
I am writing to your organization to make sure you are aware of an exciting opportunity for the members of the Lincoln Youth Symphony.

The Oquirrh Mountain Symphony is pleased to announce our Concerto Competition for 2013. Winners of this Ninth Annual Concerto Competition are invited to perform with the Oquirrh Mountain Symphony at our Spotlight Spectacular concert in May 2013.

I hope you will be willing to help spread the word to the staff, families and students of the Lincoln Youth Symphony to make this wonderful performing opportunity available to them.
I have attached a PDF file of our Concerto Competition Announcement Card (four cards per sheet) to this email. I would encourage you and your staff to forward this email to any student or performer who would like the opportunity to solo with a live orchestra. Alternatively, the PDF file can be printed and cut to be distributed at rehearsal or placed where interested students may pick one up.

Registration is currently open by going to www.omsymphony.org/concerto and clicking on Registration. Applicants are now able to complete the entire registration process on-line, no mailing required.  The registration deadline is January 25, 2013. Late registration is available after the deadline until February 8, with an additional $10.00 fee. The competition date is scheduled for Saturday, February 9, 2013. The location of the competition will be announced shortly.

Here is some basic information about the competition.
We have five competition categories:
Youth Instrumentalists and Vocalists - age 12 and under;
Junior Instrumentalists - ages 13 to 16;
Senior Instrumentalists - ages 17 to 20;
Adult/Open Instrumentalists - age 21 and over;
Vocalists - age 13 and over.

Each category will be judged by a panel of three judges selected by our Music Director and Conductor, Benjamin Winkler. In addition to the five category winners, our Conductor has the option to invite the Youth category runner-up as well as a Competition-wide Conductor's Choice winner to perform.

Complete competition details, an informative FAQ page and a link to the online registration page can be accessed at www.omsymphony.org/concerto. We also have a list of ineligible works for 2013. This list includes the works performed by the winners of the last two years of competition. These works have been excluded from competition to help us avoid repetition of the same piece every year as we have unfortunately experienced in the past. Applicants should be sure to review this list before registering.

I sincerely appreciate your time and attention to this email and hope you will be willing to forward this opportunity to your and students.

If you have any questions or would like further information, please contact me by phone or email listed below.

Thank you Ms. Gardner for your time.

Most Sincerely,

Roger Morandi
Symphony President
Oquirrh Mountain Symphony
5526 West 13400 South, Suite 525
Herriman, UT 84096
Home ph: 801-268-4838
Toll Free: 1-888-239-6237

08 December 2012

Bring A Friend -- Next Week


Today was a great rehearsal. I missed playing along, but it has been great to sort music and listen. I knew it was going to be a stupendous day when I saw a young man with a trombone... and then it only got better and better.  Thank you for your dedication and for just being awesome people!

Today we collected the Berlioz Hungarian March from the Damnation of Faust and Holst's Somerset Rhapsody. If you missed today and still have them in your folder, please turn them in to me next week. It was interesting to sight-read them last week, but we are putting them away in favor of the pieces we handed out this morning.

Finlandia by Sibelius
Blue Tango by Leroy Anderson

We also handed out the New World Symphony by Dvorak, which we will use (likely 2nd and 4th movements) for the April concert.

Next Week, December 15th

Bring a Friend! 

Do you have friends who play an orchestral instrument? This is the time to bring them!! No commitment, just a chance to come play some great music and have treats. 

Of course, if they want to join, they are welcome to pursue that as well after the break on January 5th.  :) 

Click here for the event page on Facebook!

**If you are willing to help with treats, please contact me. Sam says he's bringing scones. Sounds like a party to me!

Upcoming performances:

February 9th, Concerto Night, BEMS 5pm
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 1, Rondo (3rd Mvt), Jennifer Ban, Soloist
Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1, Adagio (2nd Mvt), Paisley Tarboton, Soloist
Haydn Cello Concerto No. 1, Moderato (1st Mvt), Taylor Robbins, Soloist
Sibelius Finlandia
Anderson Blue Tango

February 11th, Abravanel Hall, Youth Symphony Festival Field Trip; time TBA
Beethoven Symphony No. 7, Allegretto (2nd Mvt) (From November Concert - will hand out next week)
Sibelius Finlandia
Brahms Hungarian Dance No. 5 (From November Concert - will hand out next week)

April 20th, Final Concert, BEMS 5pm
Excerpts from the Butterfly Lovers Concerto for Violin, Nathan Brown, Soloist
Dvorak New World Symphony, probably 1st & 4th mvts